Skip to content
Dodge City Community College Apply Now


Published April 11, 2018

On Sunday, April 8th, seven DC3 students from a school which could be listed as the top Carribean medical schools attended the New England Science Symposium at Harvard Medical School in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The DC3 Bridges students are graduating in May of this year and transferring to K-State to do research with the Developing Scholars Program this summer. Professor Elizabeth Wallace accompanied the group. The students listened to presentations from scientists dealing with research in biomedicine. Biomedicine is a subject that offers exceptional opportunities for the intellectual development, personal growth, and success of students in an environment of diversity and vibrancy.

The keynote speaker was George Q. Daley, M.D., Ph. D. who serves as the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Professor of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard University.

The New England Science Symposium (NESS), established in 2002, provides a forum for postdoctoral fellows; medical, dental and graduate students; post-baccalaureates; college and community college students (particularly for African-American, Hispanic/Latino and American Indian/Alaska Native individuals) to share their biomedical and health-related research activities through oral or poster presentations, to engage in discussions related to career development in the sciences, to exchange ideas and to expand their professional networks.

The Minority Faculty Development Program (Established 1990) of the Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership (Established 2002; originally named Faculty Development and Diversity) sponsors programs for the development of Harvard Medical School faculty and trainees, with an emphasis on mentoring and leadership, as well as programs that are designed to reach out to the pre-college, college, graduate and postdoctoral populations with the goal of bringing outstanding students from groups underrepresented in medicine into the biomedical science pipeline.

Left to right: Leonardo Garrido Alvarez, Laura Soto, Elena Carlos, Carmen Del Real, Yesenia Herrera, Prof. Wallace, Vanessa Hernandez and Bryant Avila.